Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras

General information


The National Autonomous University of Honduras (UNAH), is the leading institution of higher education in the country and maintains a strong commitment with honduran academy, research, science, culture and development. It was founded in 1847, with a constitutional mandate to lead and develop higher and vocational education in Honduras. In 2012 it achieved its 165 years of service. It is the governing body and management coordinator of the entire university, public and private education.

Nowadays, the UNAH has more than 80.000 students enrolled in nine schools operating throughout the country, having its base in the University City Campus in Tegucigalpa. UNAH offers 121 university degrees, in undergraduate, graduate and technical studies. These programs are taught by more than 4,000 professors.

The University has a network of regional centers, which seek to disseminate and provide higher education throuought the county. These centers  are: CUROC (Santa Rosa de Copán), UNAH-VS (San Pedro Sula) CURVA (Low Aguán Olanchito) CURLA (La Ceiba), CURNO (Juticalpa), CURC (Comayagua) Danlí Technology and CURLP (Choluteca).

Cultural diversity

UNAH also procures and harbors cultural and ethnic diversity. That is why its regional centers are strategically located in areas were students from different ethnic backgrounds might attend college. Although much needs to be done in order to provide higher education to indigenous communities located in remote regions of the country, the University is developing online education and long distance education programs. Finally we also have several student associations and cultural groups that promote Honduras' diverse ethnic background and cultures.


Students have the option of joining one of the eleven faculties in the following fields: Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Agricultural Sciences, Economics, Legal Sciences, Medical Sciences, Chemical Sciences and Pharmacy, Engineering, Dentistry and Space Sciences.


Our Regional Centers, Faculties, and five Research Institutes and other Offices such as our three Vicechancellorys, develop several activities with international partners, by 2013 we are active in 22 International Networks, and have more than 45 International Agreements and 6 international projects that are developed with the collaboration of the Vicechancellory of Foreign Affairs.

Information per Mobility Type

Undergraduate exchange

UNAH currently offers 19 technical undergraduate programs (two and a half years) and 47 bachelor programs (four to five years). All the programs are taught in Spanish and some are exclusively imparted in our eight Regional Centers located across the country. For more information regarding each program please visit our webpage.

Master degree studies

The UNAH Postgraduate Programs currently offers 24 Master's Degrees, 17 Medical Specialties, and 4 Certification Programs. All of our programs are taught in Spanish and each Program has different schedules and acceptance criteria, therefore once mobilities start, UNAH will provide a list of 6 or 8 Masters Programs that we recommend to international students. For more information regarding each program please visit the website.

PhD studies
Currently UNAH is offering 1 PHD Program in Social Sciencies for Development Managments. This Program started in 1988 as a necessary academic space where theoretical, epistemological, ethical and methodological aspects of development might be studied in Honduras. Approximately 50% of the the PhD professors are international visiting professors that provide a wide range of perspectives and knowledge. This program is taught in Spanish and lasts approximately two years.

In relation with Erasmus Mundus, it is essential that any prospective PhD student has been pre-accepted by the PhD's Coordinator supervisor at the University.

Post-doctoral research and Staff

UNAH has established as one of its priorities to increase and expand our field of research and scientific publications. Therefore we are most interested in developing research groups with international professors and students. The Dirección de Investigación Científica Universitaria (DICU) is UNAH´s office that coordinates, and collaborates in the realization of scientific research in the University. Through DICU, UNAH offers the following research, opportunities and collaborations:

  • Five Research Institutes:
  1. Instituto de Estudios de la Tierra (Earth and Sciences Studies)
  2. Instituto Universitario de Democracia, Paz y Seguridad (Democracy, Peace and Security Studies)
  3. Instituto de Investigaciones Jurídicas (Law Studies)
  4. Instituto de Investigaciones Socio Económicas (Social and Economic Studies)
  5. Instituto de Investigaciones de Microbiología (Microbiology Studies)
  • The Future creation of two more Research Institutes:
  1. Instituto de Investigaciones Médicas (Medical Studies)
  2. Observatorio de Turismo (Tourism Studies)
  • More than 105 active researchers

Most importantly, UNAH has prioritized 13 lines of research for 2012-2016, which are grouped in four main areas and were defined with our researchers, Faculties and Regional Centers.  They are the following:

  • Economic and Social Development
  • Infrastructure and Territorial Development
  • Poverty and Equity
  • Competitiveness and development of productive sectors
  • Democracy and Governance
  • State Reform
  • Democracy, Citizenship and Participation
  • Political and social conflict
  • Population and living conditions
  • Population
  • Education and culture
  • Health
  • Safety and violence
  • Environment and Sustainability
  • Climate change and vulnerability
  • Food and Nutritional Security
  • Energy

For further information please contact becas.vri@unah.edu.hn.