Universidad de Magallanes

General information


The University of Magallanes (UMAG) was created in 1981 as a successor to the Punta Arenas branch of the former State Technical University, which began in 1961. As a public institution with a solid tradition in the Chilean university system, at present the University of Magallanes has over three thousand students enrolled in its four distinguished faculties. Through teaching, research and extension activities, our institution aims to develop knowledge and human resources in the southernmost region of Chile and South America.

Location and regional presence

The UMAG is located in the Magellan and Chilean Antarctic Region and centers its work in one of the largest pristine regions of Chilean Patagonia. Its main campus and the Institute of Patagonia are located in Punta Arenas. Additionally, research, education and outreach activities are carried out in the university’s centers at Puerto Natales, Porvenir (Tierra del Fuego) and Puerto Williams, where the Omora Ethnobotanical Park is found.

Foundations of academic excellence

The UMAG’s academic core is formed by 160 full-time professors and a considerable number of associate professors. A large portion of the professors have Doctorate or Master's degrees. Constantly striving to modernize its academic work and processes, the University of Magallanes takes particular care to update the syllabi of its technical and professional degrees, always considering the professional skills needed for the future. To this already strong foundation, the University is working to develop a modern infrastructure of classrooms, laboratories and a library. Simultaneously, it also strives to strength postgraduate programs and continually improve the academic staff. 

UMAG’s teaching, research and extension activities are done through its four faculties: Engineering; Sciences; Humanities, Social and Health Sciences; and Economic and Juridical Sciences, which offer 29 undergraduate degrees and technical degrees. All students are prepared with a high level of academic excellence, emphasizing their all-around development.

Since 2004, the University of Magallanes has been accredited by the National Comission of Undergraduate Accreditation (CNAP).


The UMAG is located in the Magellan and Chilean Antarctic Region and centers its work in one of the largest pristine regions of Chilean Patagonia. Its main campus and the Institute of Patagonia are located in Punta Arenas: Capital of Región de Magallanes and the Chilean Antarctic. Nature, adventure and science features Punta Arenas, with its landscape of Pampa, fjords and channels where snow peaks of the Andes spread along immense landstrips of humid temperate rainforest. The geography and nature emerge from the most extreme and spectacular forms that it is possible to imagine, adorned with breathtaking landscapes: a pristine concert of native forests, pampas, islands, fjords, channels, fast flowing rivers, lakes and lagoons, hotsprings, majestic millenary icefields and snowdrifts. It is a zone of extinguished cultures, old cattle ranches and important explorers.

Information per Mobility Type

Undergraduate Programs

Faculty of Engineering

  • Civil Engineering in Electricity major Industrial Electronics
  • Civil Engineering in Mechanics
  • Civil Engineering in Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering in Computer Science and Informatics
  • Engineering in Electricity major Electronics
  • Engineering in Mechanics
  • Engineering in Chemistry major Industry and Environment
  • Engineering in Computer Science and Informatics
  • Engineering in Construction
  • Architecture

Faculty of Economics and Juridical Sciences

  • Law
  • Commercial Business
  • Auditing


Faculty of Sciences

  • Marine Biology
  • Agronomy

Faculty of Education and Social Sciences

  • Teacher in Primary Education Pre-School
  • Teacher of English
  • Teacher of History and Social Sciences
  • Teacher of Spanish and Communications
  • Teacher of Physical Education
  • Teacher of Biology and Sciences
  • Teacher of Mathematics
  • Social Work
  • Psychology

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Nursing
  • Kinesiology
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Nutrition and Dietetics


Master Programs

  • Master in Organizational Management
  • Master in Education major Curriculum
  • Master in Science major Management and Conservation in Natural Resources in Subantarctic Environment
  • Master in Social Sciences, major Social Psychology or Social Intervention
  • Master in Antarctic Sciences, specialization in Glaciology

Postgraduate and Diploma

  • Diploma in Antarctic Programs Management
  • Diploma in Family School Mediation
  • Diploma in Heritage Interpretation

Research and Study Opportunities

The University of Magallanes research areas cover an extensive range of knowledge, focusing on the priority areas defined by the strategic development plan of the university: Social Sciences such as education, history and rrcheology;  Earth Sciences, such as glaciology, climatology and micropaleontology; Natural Sciences such as ecology, marine biology and eco-toxicology; Space Sciences such as solar radiation and solar storms; and Engineering Sciences such as informatics, electric processes, eolic system, remote sensors and modeling. Some of the applied activities associated with this research include the transfer of technology for the development of aquaculture and also new technologies and alternatives for agriculture and livestock purposes applied to the Magallanes region.

Furthermore, the university has prioritized research in the extreme austral tip of the America, including Patagonia, the Sub-Antarctic Archipielago and Antarctica.  To carry out this mission, our institution works through the Institute of Patagonia, the Antarctic Programs Center, the Center for Quaternary Studies, Fuego-Patagonia and Antarctica,  and the Omora Ethnobotanical Park.  Plus, to conduct high quality research and train professionals to work in this area, the University of Magallanes created a Master in Science  program in 2002 dedicated to “Management and Conservation of Natural Resources in Sub-Antarctic Environments” which has focused its work in the Cape Horn Biosphere Reserve.

Regarding scientific and technological development, the university emphasizes its activities through the following centers:

  • Institute of Patagonia
  • Center for Quaternary Studies, Fuego - Patagonia and Antarctica
  • Center for the Study of Energy Resources ( CERE )
  • Antarctic Programs Center
  • Ozone Laboratory
  • Marine Culture Center, Laredo Bay
  • Omora Ethnobotanical Park