Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala

General Information


The San Carlos University of Guatemala (also known and called by its acronym: USAC) is the largest, most prestigious and ancient university in Guatemala, also the only autonomous one. It was founded on January 31, 1676 by Royal Decree of Charles II, being the fourth university founded in America, at the time of the Guatemalan Revolution which established full autonomy, reaching constitutional level.

The significance of its students is reflected at different times of importance, since the independence of Guatemala, Guatemalan Revolution, the Guatemalan Armed Conflict until today. Some of the most important thinkers in the history of Guatemala have been formed at USAC.

Its headquarters are located in University City, Zone 12 of Guatemala City; it has 10 Faculties, 7 Non Faculties Schools and 18 University Centers in almost all regions of Guatemala. It has 195.000 students; 6 specialties, 119 masters and 10 doctorates in order to contribute to the training of researchers, teachers and professionals with academic excellence across the country.

Participation Erasmus Mundus

Additional to this information, San Carlos University of Guatemala has been executing the following projects of the Erasmus Mundus program of the European Commission since 2008, as part of ALFA programs:

  • INCA - Alicante University
  • RED EUREKA - Universidad Carlos III de Madrid,
  • BUILD – Universidad de Alicante,
  • INFOASES – Universidad Politécnica de Valencia
  • RELETRAN – Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin, University of Applied Sciences
  • EULALINKS – Humboldt Universitaet zu Berlin
  • AMIDILA - Università degli Studi di Bologna
  • EURICA - University of Groningen

"We consider it to be a great opportunity for USAC to participate in EURICA, given its mission and vision, especially to train human resources, in various disciplines, in order to have qualified human resources, improve academic standards to offer a better service to our country and to exchange experiences with foreign institutions."

Information per Mobility Type

The San Carlos University of Guatemala, aware of the importance of specialized human resource training and as a contribution to the Guatemalan society, created the System of Graduate Studies, whose vision is to offer training at the highest college level. The System of Graduate Studies offers in its different areas of knowledge 6 specialties, 119 masters and 10 doctorates.  The post degree programs are developed in 9 faculties, five non-faculties schools and 7 university centers, in order to contribute to the training of researchers, teachers and professionals with academic excellence across the country. The General Coordinator System Post Studies Degree is the administrative and management system subject. It serves as liaison between the Faculties, Non Faculties Schools and University Centers, General Assembly System Board of Graduate Studies and other institutions or bodies involved.


To find the programmes offered by USAC, please see their academic offer.

Click on the faculty's name to communicate with its office:

Faculty of Dentistry

Faculty of Medical Sciences

Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy

Faculty of Law and Social Sciences

Faculty of Economics

Faculty of Agronomy

Faculty of Architecture

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Humanities

Non School Faculty of Political Science

Non School Faculty of Social Work

Non School Faculty of Communication Sciences

Non Faculty School for Teachers’ Training Media –EFPEM-

Non School Faculty of Psychological Sciences

East University Center

Southern East University Center

West University Center

North University Center

University Center of El Petén

University Center of San Marcos

University Center of North West

Language Requirements

An intermediate level certificate of Spanish is required. Certificates from Instituto Cervantes, official language institutions or university language centres will be accepted.